GHXcellence Awards

GHXcellence Awards recognize supply chain leaders that are driving savings and efficiency for their organizations, their trading partners and the healthcare industry through automation and best practices.

Supply Chain Leadership (Provider)

This award recognizes the individual, from a provider organization, who is transforming supply chain through innovative use of technology and collaboration with their trading partners.


  • Actively involved with GHX for at least one year

Criteria considered

  • Demonstrates qualitative and quantitative leadership in the healthcare supply chain
  • Uses GHX products and services in innovative ways
  • Collaborates with trading partners in the GHX Community
  • Champions role supply chain excellence can play in driving better clinical and financial value
  • Mentors others in the industry

2019 Winner: Donna Totten, Defense Health Agency

2019 - Donna Totten
  • Donna’s mission, vision and dedication is to enable integrated healthcare delivery for those who serve in the defense of our country. She is actively impacting the responsiveness, safety and efficiency of patient care by advancing medical logistics and supply chain technology to create interoperability between the two largest U.S. federal healthcare networks – the Defense Health Agency (DHA) and the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA).

  • She is leading her team in the planning, design and execution of the DHA’s ERP system, its technical refresh and move to the cloud, as well as deployment of a new EHR system at both the DHA and VA. Through her work she is enabling centralized decision making for clinical requirements and supply chain functions via a single IT platform for both agencies. With an “Amazon-like” interface, the solution has significantly reduced the learning curve for clinical and logistics users.

  • Leveraging the GHX NuVia® solution, Donna and her team have standardized product and sourcing data within the joint DHA/VA item master, which flows into the EHR. This lends a high degree of certainty about product attributes at the point of care for greater usability and safety.

  • Donna’s colleagues describe her tenacious efforts as the “driver and brains” behind these progressive and significantly transformational efforts. Her behind-the-scenes work positively impacts the quality of patient care for the DHA and VA’s 33 million active service duty members and veterans.
2017 - Franco Sagliocca
2017 Winner -
Franco Sagliocca, Mount Sinai
2016 - Supply Chain Leadership (Provider)
2016 Winner -
Nancy LeMaster, BJC HealthCare
2015 - Supply Chain Leadership (Provider)
2015 Winner -
Bill Mosser, Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady Health System